A Summer of Wanderlust

09/02/2018

: strong longing for or impulse toward wandering or travel 

This life hardly ever takes us down the path we predict, the one we plan, rather it throws curve balls and tests us along a windy road that you never saw coming. When this happens you are confronted with nothing but choices. Which path do you take? Which road leads to a safer destination? Or maybe..which option have you never even considered?

Last Summer my life took a complete 180 to say the least and those were the questions I had fogging up my mind. Instead of making a choice and creating a plan (completely out of character for me)  I decided to trust the fact that maybe I was on a path of "becoming" and I needed to learn a lesson in letting go of what my life was supposed to look like at that given time. I wholeheartedly believe that the right people and opportunities come at the right time and you roll with the punches and remain open to good things coming into your life because trust me, they will. 

With all that being said, I'll get to the point now. This past Summer was one I will never forget. I traveled and attended 4 Wanderlust Yoga Festivals and taught at my very first Yoga Festival in Mammoth. I never saw my Summer going as it did but I am forever grateful for every "Yes" I was fortunate enough and able to give, all the miles driven and flights braved. 

Traveling changes you. Your world all of sudden becomes so much bigger, you appreciate the life you live a lot more and also get new ideas to daydream of all the lives you could have if you lived somewhere else. You also learn a lot about yourself being far from what's comfortable. 

I learned many lessons and know I still have so much to learn but here are my take aways from my Summer of Wanderlust:

1. Perseverance ALWAYS payoff. 

Work hard any chance you get and show people what you are capable of! Keep on keeping on and I promise good things will come your way. It's tiring, personalities start to clash and days feel long sometimes but eventually you will look back and know why everything happens the way it does. 

2. Do everything from a place of pure intention.

Do not travel to see what you can gain or what kind of successes you can bring to yourself, rather jump at opportunities and help others succeed to see what you can bring out of yourself.

3. Build relationships with those who inspire you

Surround yourself with those who inspire you. Ask questions and listen to their stories. It's often times the journeys that others have taken that help you find your own direction and truth. 

4. Just say Yes

More often than not you only regret the things you didn't do, so why not give life a chance, challenge yourself and see what new opportunities bring out in you. Do as much as you can whenever you can!

5. BE ALL IN

The ones who are the most successful in whatever they do are the ones who choose to be ALL IN. There is no try, there is no testing the water to see how it goes. They commit and they believe in themselves. As my mentor Sarah Tiefenthaler told me, "You do not start a dream with a plan B".



© 2018 allysonyoga. 
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started